## **Provincial Elections** — 2018

**Province IV**, also known as the Province of Sewanee, meets in Synod two out of the three years in each triennium — the year of General Convention and the year prior to General Convention year. For the next triennium, the PIV Synod will meet in 2020 and 2021. Officers are elected in the Synod the year of General Convention; that will be this year. Synod will be June 6-8, 2018, at Kanuga Conference Center.

The Province IV Executive Committee consists of the President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer, plus the two (lay and clergy) Provincially elected members of Executive Council, the President of the PIV ECW and the PIV UTO Board representative. The Executive Committee meets annually (in recent years, the meeting has been in Charlotte, N.C.) in the fall and also in conjunction with the two Synods. Executive Committee members also meet online and via conference calls, as needed.

## Offices to be Filled by Election at Synod 2018

**President** — 3 year term (Angela Daniel stepping down after serving two 3-year terms)

**Vice President** — 3 year term (Bishop Don Johnson will be retiring as diocesan bishop and will not be seeking a second term.)

(Note: A bishop **must** serve as either President or Vice President. A bishop **may** serve in both positions... though that's not been the Province IV history)

**Secretary** — 3-year term (Athena Hahn eligible to serve another 3-year term)

**Treasurer** — 3-year term (Kathryn McCormick eligible to serve another 3-year term)

**Provincial LAY representative to Executive Council** — 6-year term (Tess Judge stepping down after serving a 6-year term)

Nominees, clergy and lay, for the **Joint Nominating Committee To Elect a Presiding Bishop** (3-year term, only meets if there is a need to choose a new Presiding Bishop)

Our precedent, here in Province IV, is to narrow down a slate of nominees for **Joint Nominating Committee To Elect a Presiding Bishop** to three during the electing Synod. At General Convention, those three nominees will be voted on to narrow the slate(s) to 2 in each order, lay and clergy. Then the whole General Convention will elect from those two nominees.